The Outstanding Social Worker Award (OSWA) is the highest award to social workers conferred by the President of the Republic of Singapore. It aims to recognise the outstanding contributions made by dedicated social workers in Singapore. The award acknowledges their passion and professional contributions to the improvement of the social service and healthcare sectors.


The Promising Social Worker Award (PSWA) was introduced in 2008. It accords recognition to social workers who are newer in the field but have nonetheless made a difference in the lives of their clients as well as the community.

The awards are presented by the President of the Republic of Singapore to recognise the outstanding contributions of social workers to the society. The event is organised by the Singapore Association of Social Workers and supported by ExxonMobil Asia Pacific Pte Ltd and the Ministry of Social and Family Development (MSF).

The 2022 awards were presented by President Halimah Yacob to the winners at the Istana on Friday, 18 November 2022.

We extend our heartiest congratulations to the following 2022 winners:
Outstanding Social Worker Award
Ms Karen Kwa
Head and Senior Principal Medical Social Worker
Tan Tock Seng Hospital
Promising Social Worker Award
Ms Peggy Lim
Senior Social Worker
TOUCH Community Services
Promising Social Worker Award
Ms Janet Liam
Assistant Senior Social Worker and Assistant Manager
Fei Yue Community Services
Click here to view the OSWA and PSWA 2022 winners videos.

YearOutstanding Social Worker Award Winners Promising Social Worker Award Winners
2021Dr Katijah Dawood
Dr Gilbert Fan Kam Tong
Ms Michelle Lau Wei Teng
Ms Rafidah Binte Mohamed Ayob
2020Ms Bridget Monica Das
Ms Lim Boon Chee
Ms Lyon Koh Lin Lu
Ms Lin Siping
2019Mr Lee Seng Meng
Ms Tan Ching Yee
Mr Lim Shen Yong
2018Ms Chew Mei Mei Melissa Mr Benjamin Yeo
Ms Tay Yu Ping
Ms Zoe Tee
2017Dr Vincent Ng Chee Keong
Ms Zahara Mahmood
Ms Kristine Lam Hui Ching
2016Ms Nancy Ng
Ms Chee Wai Yee
Ms Lee Kaiyi
Ms Lin Jingyi
2015Ms Lee Yean WunMr Isaac Teo
Ms Lee Hwee Yoke Kitty
Ms Koh Shi En Grace
2014Ms Cheung Siew Li
Ms Julia Lee
Ms Wong Li Jin, Michelle
Ms Lee Sin Yan
2013Ms Yogeswari d/o MunisamyMs Ng Shi Quan, Lynnette
Ms Wu Ka Ma, Carmen
2012Ms Esther Lim Li Ping
Ms Wu Mei Ling
Ms Jean Koh Yan Fang
Mr Ivan Woo Mun Hong
2011Ms Ng Tzer Wee Mr Mohamed Fareez Mohamed Fahmy
2010Mrs Sylvia Mun
Ms Han Yah Yee
Mr Chua Chye Huat Alvin
2009Mr Mohd Ali Bin Mahmood
Mrs Seah Kheng Yeow
Mr Chua Wei Bin
2008Ms Long Chey May
Mr Chan Whee Peng
Mr Lim Chong Chee, Bryan
2007Mrs Yee-Chow Choy Yin
Ms Crystal Lim Ah Yan
2004Mrs Wong Cher Meng
Ms Ho Lai Peng
Mr Shawn Koh Chu Bian (Merit Award)
Ms Joyce Tan Swee Yee (Merit Award)
2003Ms Ngo Lee Yian
Mrs Lee Lay Beng
2002Ms Maureen Fung Swee Kim
Ms Koh Hwee Cheng, Esther
2001Mr Samuel Ng Beng Teck
Ms Pang Kee Tai
2000Ms Goh Soon Noi
Mr Arthur Ling (Merit Award)
Mrs Deby Sarojiuy Krishnan (Merit Award)
1999Ms Ang Bee Lian
Dr Myrna Blake
1998Ms Sudha Nair
Mrs Winnie Phoon